The City of Takoma Park City Council

Portrait of The City of Takoma Park City Council on dias.

It is with deep sadness that Takoma Park announces the death of Ward 3 Councilmember Kay Daniels-Cohen on February 20, 2014. A news release has been issued.


Our City Council

Welcome to the City of Takoma Park's City Council Page.

All legislative powers of the City are vested in a body designated as the Council of the City of Takoma Park, consisting of seven members. Six of these members are elected by ward and are called Councilmembers, and one is elected at large and is called the Mayor. The regular term of the Councilmembers and the Mayor is two years or until their successors have been elected and duly sworn. Newly elected Councilmembers and the Mayor take office on the second Monday following their election. Regular elections are held in November of odd-numbered years.

City Council Meetings

The Takoma Park City Council meets in the Community Center located at 7500 Maple Avenue. Meetings are held every Monday unless the City Council is on recess or a Monday falls on a holiday; meetings then move to the next available calendar day.

The Takoma Park City Council generally takes a recess for a period of time in August and December.
City Council meetings are open to the public unless noted otherwise.

City Council Meetings are available to watch on City TV Cable and are also available to view on-line.

Takoma Park's Wards

Curious about what ward you live in?  Visit the Ward Map & Street Directory which includes a street index.