Most City facilities are closed to the public. The Police Department is open for certain limited services on weekdays, and 24/7 for emergency services.

Visit Information and Resources - Covid-19 Response page on the website.

Active Alerts
  • No results found for this search.

Reimagining Public Safety Task Force

The purpose of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force is to develop recommendations that make Takoma Park a safer, more livable community for all residents, with an emphasis on addressing racial inequalities that exist in government and services evolving around public safety. In light of what is happening in our country, we believe that as a city, it is our duty to take inventory of our public safety practices, with emphasis on the experiences of our Black and Brown communities. This Task Force is our opportunity to bring new voices into the process as we take stock of what is working, what is not, and as we explore best practices in public safety.

The Task Force will work together for the next few months to create a set of recommendations on Public Safety as whole. Those recommendations will be sent to the City Council for approval by June 4.

The City of Takoma Park is seeking the support of community members, non-profit leaders, local business owners, educators, etc. in Takoma Park who can help us make our community a safer and more livable city that serves all residents. The Task Force will be made up of 15 individuals sourced from our diverse community and approved by the City Council.

To ensure this Task Force is as representative as possible, the process will begin with an open call for applications. If you are interested in being considered for a spot on the Task Force, please apply by Friday, February 5, 2021. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to Suzanne Ludlow, City Manager (


Task Force on Reimagining Public Safety Members

Member NameWard
Ajmel Quereshi3
Christina Morado4
Lauren Van Tol1
Emil Parker5
Sawa Kamara5
Jumana Musa6
Kiminori Nakamura6
Sadie Arlene Cheston Harris3
Olajide Atoyebi6
Duane Scott6
Xitlalli Velasquez3
Leon Crowell6
Cedric Boatman4 (formerly)
Michael Rubin2
Adam Braskich6

Links of Interest:

Boards, Commissions & Committees Sections